Close

Special Programs

The Buckeye Elementary School District firmly believes in supporting all students with specially designed instruction that promotes and encourages each student to achieve their personal best academically, socially and behaviorally.

Buckeye Elementary School District Special Programs department oversees the following services:

  • Child Find
  • Health Services
  • Special Education
  • Special Education Records
  • Preschool Program
  • School Counseling Services
  • School Psychologists

About Child Find

At a Glance

  • Child Find is a legal requirement that schools find all children who have disabilities and who may be entitled to special education services.
  • Child Find covers every child from birth through age 21.

CLICK HERE to learn more about the BESD Child Find program 

About Effective Behavior and Instructional Support Systems (EBISS)

At a Glance

  • To review school wide academic and behavior data in order to evaluate the effectiveness of core programs.
  • To screen and identify students needing additional academic and behavior support.
  • To plan, implement and modify interventions for these students. Depending on each student’s “response to intervention,” a formal referral for special education evaluation may result after interventions have been planned, monitored and documented.

Educational Programs for Students with Special Needs

Buckeye Elementary School District  provides a continuum of educational programs for students with special needs. At each of our schools, the IEP team determines program placement of each student based on the principle of the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE). LRE means that a student is to participate in as much of the general education program as is appropriate in view of his/her educational needs.

Procedural Safeguards – Parents Rights under IDEA

 


Contacts:

Lisa Fantasia
Executive Director of Special Programs
Phone: (623) 925-3439
Email: LFantasia@besd33.org
David Lopez
Director of Special Education
Phone: (623) 925-3436
Email: DLopez@besd33.org
Heather Barron-Galvan
Lead Psychologist
Phone: (623) 386-4487 ext.3348
Email: HBarron@besd33.org
Linda L’Amoreaux
Special Programs Coordinator
Email: LLamoreaux@besd33.org
Debbie Dunning
Special Education Administrative Assistant
Phone: (623) 925-3405
Email: DDunning@besd33.org
Kim Reed
Special Education Records
Phone: (623) 925-3435
Email: KReed1@besd33.org
Stephanie Mendoza
Medicaid Clerk
Phone: (623) 925-3461
Email: SMendoza@besd33.org
Occupational and
Physical Therapy
Department
Jennifer Kennedy, OTR
Email: JKennedy@besd33.org
Elisabeth Stuewe, OTR
Email: EStuewe@besd33.org
John Harrell, COTA
Email: JHarrell@besd33.org
George Mata, COTA
Email: GMata@besd33.org
Jennifer Silver, PT
Email: JSilver@besd33.org
Claudia Terrazas
Adaptive Services
Email: CTerrazas@besd33.org